I haven’t written a word this week.

I am stressed out about it since my focus is on writing enough to become a successful novelist and live off the fruits of my labours in about ten years time. My goal is 4 000 words a day, every day. For the last month all I’ve done is write. Focused on my goal. I finally felt like I was getting somewhere and my future was going to be what I wanted it to be. Then this week happened.

Sunday.

I drove up to Whistler to pick up my daughter and spend time with my family for Easter.

Monday.

I came home to a house that was destroyed by my son’s party the night before. I left to him to clean up the house and went out for coffee with a girlfriend I hadn’t seen for a few months.

Tuesday.

In the morning I worked on a direct mail marketing piece for a client and had coffee with the same girlfriend. Then I went downtown for a date.

Wednesday.

I worked on the direct mail marketing piece again and took my son to the doctor’s office, then for a late lunch to talk about life, his future, and mine. The House was a disaster again from the kids fending for themselves on Tuesday, so I had to clean up.

40 Something (3)_Fotor_Fotor

In the novel 40 Something, Justine and Charlie struggle with balancing family, home, and work.

Click on the photo

Thursday.

I went downtown with a girlfriend for the day and spent way too much money on some skin care products. This story will end up in my 40 Something series. I worked on the direct mail marketing piece as my client changed the perimeters, yet again.

Friday.

I spent the morning finalizing the direct mail campaign with Canada Post. Cleaned up the house a bit because it was a disaster, yet again, from the kids fending for themselves. I went downtown for a doctors appointment and then a second date with the same man I’d met earlier in the week.

Saturday.

It’s Saturday and it’s my daughter’s 14th Birthday. I have laundry waiting to be folded piled up around me, the house needs a deep clean and we have no food in the house. Plus, It’s a beautiful day and I would love to get out.

This is the most I’ve written all week.

Did I Fail?

There is a finite amount of time. How we chose to spend that time is tied up in our priorities and the demands of those around us. Was my week a waste of time? Did I spend my time wrong?

No. I don’t think so. Over the past 2 months I’ve been so focused on writing between working on a contract, sending out job applications and going to interviews. I have spent more time with my computer than I have with people.

I’ve been disconnected.

This week, I was with family, my kids, a friend, and a new man. I interacted with people who breathe, live in the real world, whom I can see, touch, and hear with my ears, instead of spending all my time with my characters.

Yes. I didn’t hit my writing goal this week. I did something way more important.

I lived.

 

Photo on 2014-04-17 at 12.25 PMShannon Peel is the author of THIRTEEN a book about a boy and his mom caught behind enemy lines when soldiers attack their North American hometown. The story asks the question, what if it happened here?

For more information check out her website. www.shannonpeel.com

